Patience

I have often heard that by being patient we reveal our faith in God. In other words, impatient people don’t trust God.

I’d like top believe that a part of that statement may be true; as I’ve had my share of frustration when it comes to being patient. The part that I take umbrage with is the not trusting God aspect. After all, I live in a culture that emphasizes the now. Delaying gratification is not something that is valued in this age of technology and information. To me, this begs the questions as to whether impatience is a product of not trusting God, but more about keeping up with the Joneses.

You see, I love God and trust God…but how can that person get married before me? How can that person own a home before me? How can that person make more than me? How can that person own a house before me? How could God allow this person to get a recording deal?

You see, the point is that I can trust God, but I can’t trust myself when I’m busy comparing myself to everybody else. It goes back to God, when I forget to appreciate the unique qualities that God has given only to me.

And so patience must be redefined…perhaps God can help me define it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

